Sandy’s Story…

 

 

sandys story 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As promised here is the sequel to my fiction 72 hours .I suggest that those of you who missed this post read it first to really appreciate this part .

https://cutestangel.wordpress.com/2009/05/26/72-hours/
_____________________________________________________________________________

I checked the mail box for any last minute mail. Flicking through the letters, my gaze locked on to a white crisp envelope, I examined it for its contents, scanning to see the post mark. Benjamin and Benjamin solicitors it said on it. My hands began to tremble, as I realised what was in the envelope. I suppose it was just as well that this arrived today, so that I can travel with a clear conscience and no past ghosts to intrude my new life. I prised open the envelope and read the words “Marriage annulled.”

My marriage was never a real marriage; it was more a mockery, a ridicule of the word marriage, rare in these modern times but still occurring. It was a tie, sanctified by the society, by the elders, a tie that was forced upon me. My orthodox captors believed and expected that a woman should give up all her wishes, desires, and rights. People who treated women as a possession, a place where a façade of happily families was portrayed to the outer world but in reality there was no love and respect. In their eyes the woman was just a puppet in the hands of the master.

I felt saddened at the failure of my marriage but at the same time relieved and proud to have had the spirit to have broken free from the shackles of a life that offered nothing but unhappiness and sorrow. Accepting that a chapter in my life had closed, I consoled my mind and heart to be happy. I was about to embark on a life long ambition to fulfil my dream, surely this was something to look forward to. I placed the letter back in the envelope and filed it away locking that part of my life away fore ever.

Arriving at my destination I was ready for my challenging trip to the vision aid camps in Asia. The six weeks in the camp in the tropical heat was exhausting but I had never felt so exhilarated and content with life. The appreciation of the patients who came daily for the treatments, my co workers, the love and respect that I received rapidly soothed the scars of hatred and bitterness that I had nurtured in the previous months. I felt satisfied and rewarded working in the camps and vowed that I would travel each year to do the same. The six weeks soon came to an end and I decided to treat my self by taking a well earned week’s vacation before returning back to Canada.

The hotel was wonderful, full of ambience and luxurious. Although at times loneliness engulfed me, the first time in months I felt free and independent. Breaking free from restrictions and confinement I was once again a free spirit, independent and care free. The island was beautiful and I took walks on the beach, swam and generally recharged my mind and soul. I made plans to sight see and it was on this occasion that we first met, Nish and I both hailing for the same taxi. We agreed to share the ride and fate had struck the beginning of a wonderful friendship.

Although total strangers, I felt immediately comfortable and totally at ease with Nish. In the cab our conversations flowed and we agreed to spend the day together sightseeing. Nish appeared to be younger than me but most certainly in age only not maturity. Towering to a height of almost six feet, he had an attractive sporty, rugged look with mass of dark wavy hair. Nish was jovial and fun loving with an awesome sense of humour yet he was the perfect gentle man, easy going and so undemanding. The day was so enjoyable and spending time together had been fun so we agreed to meet up the next day.

Early after breakfast we set off to explore some beaches, we snorkelled, barbequed, played volleyball and walked for miles on the idyllic stretch of white sandy beaches. The rapport between us was enigmatic .There was an aura, I couldn’t understand,something was drawing me so close to him yet I was confused . My mind was in a turmoil, I was harbouring so much pain and grief that I almost felt guilty that I was enjoying being with Nish.

I was soon jolted out of my thoughts by Nish “Hey Sandy penny for your thoughts!!! You can stop day dreaming about me I am here in person he joked!!” As he touched my arm I felt this impulse to reciprocate, oh my god what was happening to me. “How about we have dinner at that restaurant on the cliffs?? Isn’t it an awesome place and the view will be spectacular.” I turned to smile at him but suddenly “Ouch ouch I cried in pain” a crab had just nipped my foot.” I held out my hand to Nish to stable my self as Nish helped me to a near by rock to sit. Massaging my foot, he comforted me, gently cupping my tear stained face. His touch was soothing and inviting, embracing each other, our bodies entwined. No words were necessary as the passion of the last two days was apparent in both our eyes.

As the sun peeped through the patio doors, I stirred in the bed as my swollen foot began to throb and ache from the crab bite. I reached for a glass of water and there propped by the jug was a note. I picked it up and read it “Got to go, didn’t want to wake you, you looked so peaceful, early morning meeting, have dinner with me 7 pm, love Nish”. Suddenly the reality of the events of the previous evening began to unfold in my mind, the wonderful evening with Nish, the candle light dinner at the cliff top restaurant, the closeness and the intimacy. I couldn’t believe how things had happened so fast. I barely knew him. I wasn’t ready for such a commitment not so soon. My mind was in a jumble of thoughts and disarray .I didn’t want to hurt Nish  yet at the same time I didn’t want to get hurt either. I didn’t know what Nish’s intentions were, how committed he would be, after all we barely knew each other. He didn’t even know anything about my past life; would he accept me for what I am? I didn’t want to wait to find out; I didn’t want to face a rejection. I just wanted to savour the unforgettable 72 hours that we had spent together. They were the happiest moments of my life ,maybe I had fallen in love with this stranger but I was not going to take the chance. I couldn’t  risk any more hurt and anguish. I phoned reception to book my return ticket to Canada. I had to leave ….

copyright © 2009 Nayna Kanabar

Published in: on June 18, 2009 at 8:25 am  Comments (41)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutestangel.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/sandys-story/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

41 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. nice blog dear and i love the story !

  2. Hey Nayna I really enjoyed the story till here….waiting for the next part !

    BTW, acc. to the copyright…I jus wanna kno if u are the author of this story…

  3. I hope there’s another part in this story……actually i am still missing the happy ending 🙂

  4. @ sai Each and every word in this post is my own hence the copyright.

  5. @ SAI maybe I will write a third part I am not sure yet.

  6. hey Angel,

    great to see you back 🙂

    Wud be back to read it.

  7. Nayna…if you remember in your previous post I said that I liked your story (of course) and I liked your template too…

    So here’s how I have bloggerised this template:
    http://quentin-template.blogspot.com/

    In case you ever want to use a similar template in a Blogger blog 🙂

    [http://www.ziddu.com/download/5244775/Quentin.zip.html]

  8. @ Sai I saw the blogger template , its almost identical to this wordpress.Thanks for sharing the link .

  9. Beautiful.

  10. this was perfect !! i like such ends more than happy expected ones .. 🙂

  11. Very well done.Good job keep it up…….

  12. nice good job keep it up..!

  13. Great piece of fiction… Keep it up… 🙂

  14. Hey lovely story n well designed blog…keep up d good work…..
    visit mine @ http://www.bestinfo4u.blogspot.com

  15. Nice story….n gr8 blog….
    visit mine @ http://www.bestinfo4u.blogspot.com

  16. Very nicely done … Many times it’s natural for people to shy away from love, for fear of getting hurt again, even if there are possibilities of it being totally different …. Times change people … atleast one has to courage to leave the past behind and try to find a peace somewhere else … reaching for horizons further …

  17. well scripted sequel 🙂

    is thr another sequel coming up?

  18. @CRD it seems many people want a happy ending so may be will do a final part I am thinking about it .Lets see what the readers feed back is on this one.
    watch this space!!!

  19. Hey Nayna… nice sequel 😀

  20. Awesome!! naughty crab…didnt know a crab bite could do all that! 😉
    Waiting for the sequel to the sequel! 😀

  21. wow….
    I love this concept….
    Different views and thoughts abt the same 72 hours….

    SO would love to read a sequel….

    Do try to come with one… 🙂

  22. @ more thanks , thinking about next part seriously but you hve to promise to come and read it if I do!!!

  23. extremely well knit piece of story with a good flow from the beginning to the end.
    end of the first part i mean.

    will do ur sequels next time.

    http://www.2100science.com

  24. aghhh the much awaited sandy’s story.. I was eager to know this side too…!!
    “I phoned reception to book my return ticket to Canada. I had to leave ….”
    Left or not!!!!??
    Or are u planning any more twist in this? may be a third part!!??

    Sincerly saying.. Jus loved ur strory!!
    Keep bloggin!!

  25. @ sajith thanks am thinking to be predictable or not in constructing a third and final part!!!lolz

  26. Very Nice Blog …Good Work.

    http://gamess4u.blogspot.com/

  27. i had to spend 1 hr to read it.an hr well spent.thanks for the wonderful time.

  28. @ sidharth many thanks for giving up sp much of your valueable time ,hopefully you will return for more!!

  29. And here you go:)… A same amazing feelings shared by two different person..at the same time both of them had passed from different situation, caused the unforgettable memory which never converted in reality……..

    Btw…I really love to read your story with fresh mind so my comment was little delayed:).

  30. Nice sequel to 72 hours. But I really think there is no necessity for a third part with a happy ending.

  31. you breath life with your words.. seriously, you must try with a novel or something.. would come back for the other parts..

    being a victim of a failed marriage, that marriage part in the beginning hooked me up till the end..

    regards
    manu

  32. Nice story!

  33. great fiction. delightful blog. keep it up.enjoyed every minute i spent

  34. Very well written follow-up to 72 hours, I must say!
    It was only natural for Sandy to shy away from another encounter after her first one had ended so bitterly… Made it feel very realistic. Now a happy ending after this… I dunno, depends on how you handle it (which I’m sure will be good).

  35. Waah, ati-sundar! Really a masterstroke to have the same 72 hours from her point of view as compared to from his POV in the 1st part. Maine socha nahi tha ki 2nd part female protagonist ke POV se hoga. Now if only 3rd part were to have them getting united after 5 years in most unexpected manner.

  36. @ deeps -Watch this space maybe a 3rd and final part may come.Maybe not!!!!Waiting for some inspiration!!!

  37. wow!
    great post, captured the parts clearly with the words.
    there should be a third part.i suppose there is

  38. Wow! It was nice!

  39. Have you seen the film Vicky christina Barcelona? You might just get the the required inspiration from that film…….
    It was really good……and calls for a sequel

  40. nice stories buddy

  41. really very well written … i want to adopt the way you write…


Leave a Reply

