Too embarrassed for words…

Too embarrassed for words…

I call this syndrome putting your mouth into action before your brain is in gear!!

When I was a trainee optician, a young sardar in turban and smart formal suit was sitting in the waiting area where I was practising. As I came out of the consulting room he started chatting to me. Not wanting to be impolite I responded thinking all along who is this guy seems familiar. It was only after a good few minutes he said to me “I don’t see you at the swimming pool anymore” To which I replied with out thinking “Oh I didn’t recognise you with your clothes on”!!! Well u can imagine the rest!! I had to excuse my self very quickly from all the eyes that turned to me in the waiting room!!!

Another one of those sticky moments…
In my profession patient interaction is very important, communication has to be clear and precise and this is exactly what I was trying to do.
A middle aged couple came in to have an eye examination, on completion of the test I asked the gentle man “Do you have specs?” but sounding I guess like s “p”ex!! He looked at me puzzled so I repeated the question a little louder, “do you have    
s “p”ex??” At this point he blushed looked at me sheepishly and replied yes last night!!!!….It took me a few seconds to realise what he thought I had asked…..Do you have SEX!!!…………..luckily he saw the funny side of it, and  all ended in a real laugh.

Published in: on March 5, 2007 at 6:13 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutestangel.wordpress.com/2007/03/05/too-embarrassed-for-words%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ha ha ha…cool ones….happens..but nayna u were lucky enough it ended there while some of my friends (the north indians who didnt knwo the local language then…) got shouted badly in our making years for framing the sentences wrong and it meant something else..especialy in the HIV /HBsAg and sti positive cases…it was all fun….we still laugh over it sometimes… 🙂

  2. lolzzz…tht sardar one was hilarious…:))
    “Oh I didn’t recognise you with your clothes on”!!!….i cant control my laughter!!!
    good example of puttin ur mouth into action b4 ur brain is in gear!
    =))

  3. lolzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:P

    in the same manner when i had joined univ police job, with my roomie, the lady on the counter …was in funny mood..and she asked him like…..Is this ur first time (….she means…was tht our first time to do job)???? ..he saiid yes….and all other surgents laughed…and then she asked me after ….wht abt u…??

    I said..I did it last night:P….and again people laughed…me and roomie…got the joke after v puzzled 4 a moments:P

  4. ha ha… you better watch out buddy … it could be real mess sometimes !!:D

  5. Thats real funny ..

    ha ha!! loved those conversations!


Leave a Reply

